Our Conference

The Louisiana Annual Conference is the only United Methodist conference in Louisiana. It is led by Bishop Cynthia Fierro Harvey. It consists of six districts, each comprised of between 80 to 100 local churches. The districts, each led by a District Superintendent, are as follows: 

District  Office Location
Alexandria 2727 Jackson Street Alexandria, LA 71301
Baton Rouge 527 North Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA
Lake Charles - Acadiana 703 Lee Ave. Suite 401, Lafayette, La
Monroe 2911 Centenary Blvd., Shreveport, LA
New Orleans 5875 Canal Blvd. New Orleans, LA 70124
Shreveport 2911 Centenary Blvd., Shreveport, LA

There are a number of ministries and institutions throughout the state that are owned by or associated with the church. In addition, the conference has boards, commissions, and committees to help organize and oversee our corporate ministries.
Statistics (2019): 

Number of clergy

"Each year, upon completion of the Annual Conference, a Journal is produced with reports ..."
The mission of the Louisiana Annual Conference is to make disciples of Jesus Christ for the transformation of the world.
The conference communicates to its membership through a conference newspaper and e-letter – the Louisiana Now! – and its website and its Facebook page. The bishop also has an email list that is used to send out periodic messages. Each year, upon completion of the Annual Conference, a printed Journal is produced with reports and statistics on the state of the conference. Members of the Annual Conference can purchase a Journal. The Journal is posted annually on this website as well.
The Louisiana Annual Conference is in the South Central Jurisdiction of The United Methodist church. The United Methodist Church, in its present form, was established in 1968. Its roots as a denomination date back to the days of John Wesley in 18th century England. We are organized as a connectional church, meaning that though each local church chooses its own response to the mission in its own community, we affirm together the doctrine of the denomination and follow the Discipline of The United Methodist Church.

Found an issue with this page? Click here to let us know.