Bishop Cynthia Fierro Harvey reassigned to Louisiana Annual Conference

July 16, 2016
Bishop Cynthia Fierro Harvey is returning to the Louisiana Annual Conference. Friday evening at the South Central Jurisdictional Conference, the Episcopacy committee announced the appointments for all 10 Bishops serving the jurisdiction. 
“I am thrilled!” Bishop Harvey exclaimed. The Episcopal leader for the Louisiana area is pictured left at a breakfast with the conference delegation held Saturday morning at the Hyatt Hotel just prior to consecration services held for three newly elected SCJ bishops--Ruben Saenz, Jimmy Nunn and Bob Farr.
In 2012, Bishop Harvey was elected as a Bishop and sent to serve the Louisiana Annual Conference. She is pleased to continue the great work she has helped oversee and looks forward to another four years. 
“I cannot wait to get back to Louisiana and continue God’s great work. God has begun good work in us, and I am excited to see what is ahead.”
Under Bishop Harvey’s leadership, the Louisiana Conference adopted a mission and vision focus to lead others to an abundant life in Christ; engage in the community; learn, live and tell the Gospel story; and reach out and draw in people from all walks of life resulting in vibrant, alive and vital congregations.  
As exciting and necessary as that work is to serving the Church, Bishop Harvey is equally excited to be back with Louisiana Methodists. “It is a beautiful, fun and exciting place to serve. It has been and will continue to be my deepest honor to serve with Louisianians who give of themselves for Jesus in unique and innovative ways.”
Bishop Harvey continues to serve on the Boards of Trustees for Centenary College, Dillard University and the United Methodist Foundation of Louisiana. 
For more on Bishop Harvey, click here.
Found an issue with this page? Click here to let us know.