Historic Sites

     To recognize locations of significance in The United Methodist Church, places can be granted ‘Landmark’ or ‘Historic Site’ status.  There are no Landmarks … sites of major importance to the Church in general … in the Louisiana Conference; but several congregations are listed as Historic Sites by the General Commission on Archives and History (GCAH). 
     After an Annual Conference has approved the application, it is sent with a fee of $75 to the GCAH.  To attain Historic Site status, the applicant must show their significance to United Methodism's history in our Conference.  They are issued a number in order of their acceptance.  The numbered Historic Sites in the Louisiana Conference are: 

  • 516 Baton Rouge First UM Church, Baton Rouge
  • 545 Camphor Memorial UM Church, Baton Rouge
  • 42  Richmond Nolley grave site, Jena
  • 166 Bartholomew United Methodist Church, Bastrop
  • 190 Boeuf Prairie Methodist Church, Fort Necessity
  • 351  First United Methodist Church of Bastrop
  • 376 Mount Zion United Methodist Church, New Orleans 
  • 377 Rayne Memorial United Methodist Church, New Orleans

     For a number of years, we have also recognized historic locations on a Conference level.  For a Louisiana United Methodist Marker, sites applied to the Annual Conference for recognition.  Qualifications for a Louisiana marker were not as strict as for the national Historic Site marker.  We have a number of sites that have been recognized as historic by the Louisiana Conference (but were not continued to the GCAH).  According to previous Commission on Archives & History reports and correspondence, these include: 

  • Arcadia UMC (Arcadia, La.)
  • Arizona UMC (Homer, La.)
  • Asbury UMC (Natchitoches, La.)
  • Bartholomew UMC (Bastrop, La.)
  • Bayou Chicot UMC (Ville Platte, La.)
  • Bayou Scie UMC (Many, La.)
  • Bethel UMC (Pride, La.)
  • Boeuf Prairie UMC (Fort Necessity, La.)
  • Calvary UMC (Thibodaux, La.)
  • Day’s UMC (Liverpool, La.)
  • Epps UMC (Epps, La.)
  • First UMC (Columbia, La.)
  • First UMC (Cotton Valley, La.)
  • First UMC (Crowley, La.)
  • First UMC (Donaldsonville, La.)
  • First UMC (Eunice, La.)
  • First UMC (Lecompte, La.)
  • First UMC (New Iberia, La.)
  • First UMC (Plaquemine, La.)
  • First UMC (Winnsboro, La.)
  • Floyd UMC (West Carroll Parish, La.)
  • Gibson UMC (Gibson, La.)
  • Glenmora UMC (Glenmora, La.)
  • Holly Grove UMC (Leesville, La.)
  • Jackson UMC (Jackson, La.)
  • Lutcher UMC (Lutcher, La.)
  • Mount Mariah UMC (Arcadia, La.)
  • Mount Zion UMC site (Minden, La.)
  • Oak Ridge UMC (Oak Ridge, La.)
  • Peoples UMC (New Orleans, La.)
  • Pharr Chapel UMC (Morgan City, La.)
  • Plaquemine Brulee MEC site (Branch, La.)
  • Raymond UMC (Jennings, La.)
  • Roanoke UMC (New Orleans, La.)
  • Trinity UMC (New Orleans, La.)
  • Wesley Chapel UMC (Greensburg, La.)
  • Wesley Chapel UMC (Ruston, La.)
  • Wesley Chapel UMC (St. Joseph, La.)
  • Wesley UMC (Booneville, La.)
  • Wesley UMC (New Orleans, La.)

There are other churches that have markers.  If you know a church with a marker that is not listed, please let us know. 

More Information

        •Historic Site designation instructions

        •List of nationally recognized UM Historical sites

If you think you have a site that might qualify, contact the Louisiana Commission on Archives and History for more information. 

Found an issue with this page? Click here to let us know.